• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Christina Williams

Christina Williams

Junior Poster

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 14 August 2006 - 10:26 AM

Hi all, Im new to Monachos and to Orthodoxy. It is difficult for me to get to a church and to learn from books. I hope that it is ok to post some of my questions and queries on this site.

May I ask what the orthodox view on Eden is? Does this place exist solely in a spiritual dimension? When Adam and Eve were in 'union' with God they were in 'Eden' but when they fell they were 'exiled'.......is there any parallel with the 'Kingdom of Heaven'?

I hope that this question makes sense

Yours in Christ

#2 Fr Raphael Vereshack

Fr Raphael Vereshack

• Moderators
  • 4,420 posts
  • Orthodox Christian Member
  • Verified Monastic Cleric

Posted 14 August 2006 - 12:52 PM

Hi all, Im new to Monachos and to Orthodoxy. It is difficult for me to get to a church and to learn from books. I hope that it is ok to post some of my questions and queries on this site.

May I ask what the orthodox view on Eden is? Does this place exist solely in a spiritual dimension? When Adam and Eve were in 'union' with God they were in 'Eden' but when they fell they were 'exiled'.......is there any parallel with the 'Kingdom of Heaven'?

I hope that this question makes sense

Yours in Christ

Eden was an actual physical place but was deeply affected by man's being constantly in communion with God. Thus the experience of time and place was not like ours in a fallen state although we can get glimpses of this through our life in the Church.

Indeed there is a parallel between this & the Kingdom of God since the Kingdom refers to that state when Christ will be all in all.