Daniela S.

Junior Poster

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 34 posts
  • Orthodox Christian Member

Posted 16 October 2013 - 02:07 PM

Greetings to All,

I would ask my priest this question, but he is out of the country currently.  This is my first time experiencing "Halloween" since my baptism.  At my workplace there is a mandatory meeting coming up, at which our leadership have planned a costume party as a reward for the hard work our team has done recently.  I want to show my gratitude and participate in the meeting and the "party", but I am not very comfortable with the Halloween aspect of it. I do not want to offend or hurt anyone by seeming non-participatory or ungrateful.  Most importantly, I do not want to compromise my Christianity. I should also point out that I work in retail, where the current cultural trends are particularly difficult to navigate at times. Does anyone have suggestions on how to approach this situation? 

In Christ,

Daniela

#2 Lakis Papas

Lakis Papas

Regular Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 616 posts

Posted 16 October 2013 - 04:52 PM

If you consider the costume as "work requirement" and the you choose a "neutral costume" (for example german beer girl traditional costume - Octoberfest type costume), then  I think you'll have no problem participated in the party. You 'll be dressed in a traditional folklore costume (there is no spiritual conflict with that type of dress).

Edited by Lakis Papas, 16 October 2013 - 04:55 PM.

#3 Paul Cowan

Paul Cowan

Very Frequent Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,064 posts

Posted 17 October 2013 - 05:23 AM

Call in sick that day. You can "party" at Christmas time.

#4 Ryan

Ryan

Very Frequent Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 837 posts

Posted 17 October 2013 - 09:55 AM

What exactly do you find objectionable about a costume party?

#5 Kusanagi

Kusanagi

Very Frequent Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 716 posts

Posted 17 October 2013 - 12:45 PM