#1 Patrick Walsh

Patrick Walsh

Regular Poster

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts

Posted 25 July 2005 - 07:45 PM

Hello

I am only beginning to explore this wonderful area. And as I explore, my humility grows as I am in awe of the clarity and wisdom of the Church Fathers.

I know that the Syriac Fathers, such as St. Hevagrius of Pontus, St. Ephrem of Syria, St. Isaac of Nineveh, and St. Afraates of Matti come after much of this debate had ended with the council of Chalcedon. But I am curious to understand better where their Christology fits into the picture as a whole, in particular St. Isaac of Nineveh.

The reason I ask this is that the more I read of this topic, the more I begin to understand St. Isaac's particular approach to salvation. This also deepens my understanding of why indeed his theology is Orthodox, and not the Nestorian of the church he belonged to.

Any guidance to help further my understanding is appreciated.

Thanks
Patrick

#2 Eugene

Eugene

Regular Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts

Posted 25 July 2005 - 10:12 PM

Hello Patrick,

I'm not a Syrologist, but I spent some time studying Syriac fathers, so I migh be able to say something on this topic, and other people will correct me if I'm wrong.

First of all, St. Ephrem of Syria and St. Afraates of Matti lived long before the Chalcedoinan schism and their theology has no sign of Nestorianism, so they both are perfectly Orthodox.

Hevagrius of Pontus is not Syriac, neither he is a saint, his writhings were found to contain some heresy (namely, he beleived in Origen's version of apokatastasis), so he was pronounced among heretics on one of the Ecumenical Councils. However, his writings are still valued in the Orthodox Church, some of them had even been included in Philokalia. He was also very respected in Syriac Nestorian Church, and many of his writings survived only in Syriac translation.