4 replies to this topic

#1 Ryan A.

Ryan A.

Junior Poster

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 16 December 2013 - 06:09 AM

Hello, everyone!

I am an infrequent poster and mostly a lurker but decided to jump into the fray today.

Recently, I have been discussing liturgical development with a friend, and he has stated that ad orientem worship has an 8th century innovation and that the ancient practice (whether facing literal East, facing the altar/tabernacle, or however you define it) has always been to face towards the "Body of Christ" (the congregants). I am no expert in early Church liturgy but have always understood that ad orientem worship has, by and large, been the Christian norm throughout the centuries.

While I would appreciate input as commentary, I would be particularly interested to look at any historical references, studies, or similar material that anyone might be able to provide.

Thank you for your assistance.

Ryan A.

#2 Phoebe K.

Phoebe K.

Regular Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Orthodox Christian Member

Posted 17 December 2013 - 12:31 PM

Hi,

The practice as to which way the Priest (or when he is their the Bishop) faces varies within the service, dictated by the rubrics (instructions) within the Liturgy.  The Liturgy itself is as we practice it comes from before the 8th Century. The Liturgys of St John Cryisostam and St Basel tell the Priest what to do at given points in the liturgy.