Ryan

Very Frequent Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 837 posts
  • Orthodox Christian Member

Posted 15 December 2008 - 03:09 PM

Hi Jon-

I'm wondering if you could tell a little bit about what you've seen of the status of Orthodoxy in China. Maybe it warrants a new thread. I studied for 5 months in Beijing, though this was before my interest in Orthodoxy. Do local Chinese attend the services? Are there Chinese priests that you know of in Beijing?

#2 Father Anthony

Father Anthony

Regular Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 160 posts

Posted 15 December 2008 - 05:18 PM

Hi Jon-

I'm wondering if you could tell a little bit about what you've seen of the status of Orthodoxy in China. Maybe it warrants a new thread. I studied for 5 months in Beijing, though this was before my interest in Orthodoxy. Do local Chinese attend the services? Are there Chinese priests that you know of in Beijing?

Dear Ryan,

If you try this website, it has a plethora of information dealing with Orthodoxy in China. http://www.orthodox.cn/index_en.html

The site is devoted strictly to this area, and does have a forum to answer up to the minute information requests.

I hope this helps.

In IC XC,
Father Anthony+

#3 Ryan

Ryan

Very Frequent Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 837 posts

Posted 16 December 2008 - 03:29 PM

Thanks a lot, Father Anthony. I had seen that site before but it seems to have expanded greatly since then.

#4 Deacon Jonathan

Deacon Jonathan

Frequent Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 210 posts

Posted 29 December 2008 - 04:36 PM

Sorry for the lateness of this reply, Ryan. There is lots I could write here, but I don't know how much would be useful or not, so in the end, rather than just worrying about it too much I'll just jump in and write some things.