Phoebe K.

Regular Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Orthodox Christian Member

Posted 21 March 2014 - 09:57 PM

Hi,

I am not an expert at interpreting the texts, infact I tend to rely on listening to sermons and reading the fathers to understand the texts of the gospels.  What I will say is that we do not tend to interpret individual verces but rather in the context of the passage within the narrative of the Gospel (in this case) or the book the passage is found in.

this verse comes in a time when Jesus is talking about John the Baptist just after the baptist's decibles had come to ask him is he was the Meshiah.  Here Jesus is talking about the Baptist as Elijah and the change in era this brings about.  It can also bee seen to allude to the coming violence of John's martyrdom and the Crusifiction.

I will leave a full interpretation to those who have the skill to do this.  Though in my personal opinion it would be good for you to desscuss it with your Presbyter.

Phoebe

#3 Justin Frank

Justin Frank

Junior Poster

• Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 21 March 2014 - 11:57 PM

Thank you, Phoebe.

I am not looking for an out of context interpretation of the verse. I wish to understand it in context, but I don't understand it. That one particular sentence is mysterious to me.

I'd love more than anything to speak with my presbyter about it, but I am away from home until May, and I'm not going to call him about this.

If anyone has any insight into the meaning of this particular sentence, and a moment to spare, please help me understand.

Thanks.

#4 Mark Harris

Mark Harris

Regular Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 125 posts

Posted 22 March 2014 - 12:55 PM

From OrthodoxYouth blogspot
“And from the days of John the Baptist up until now, the Kingdom of Heaven is taken by force unto the zealous in their zeal.”

#5 Rdr Andreas

Rdr Andreas

Very Frequent Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,027 posts

Posted 22 March 2014 - 03:08 PM