Photo
- - - - -

Orthodox Daily Prayers (revised edition)

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Theodora E.

Theodora E.

Frequent Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 184 posts

Posted 03 February 2009 - 04:27 AM

Title: Orthodox Daily Prayers
Author(s): none
Publisher: St. Tikhon's Seminary Press, South Canaan, PA, 2008
ISBN: 978-878997-81-4
Pages: 139
Price: $14.00
Links: http://www.stspress....il.aspx?ID=3046
Description: Revised second edition of the original 1982 prayer book from St. Tikhon's Seminary Press. Out of print for some years.

#2 Theodora E.

Theodora E.

Frequent Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 184 posts

Posted 03 February 2009 - 04:42 AM

Note: I am just an average Orthodox laywoman (Orthodox for 5+ years), although very active. I have a journalism degree, was a small town newspaper reporter for a time, thus very interested in language, and have an interest in differences between prayer books, dating back to when I was an Episcopalian.

After flitting between various prayer books for some time (the little red Antiochian one, A Manual of Eastern Orthodox Prayers, the Jordanville, and the St. Tikhon's Daily Orthodox Prayers), I finally settled down with the St. Tikhon's Daily Orthodox Prayers, about the time I transferred into the OCA. It seemed appropriate that I was praying at home with the same words used in my parish, particularly since I had to learn the OCA translations. They weren't totally different from the Antiochian ones I was used to and had memorized, but just enough was different to trip me up (in church) if I was going from memory.

This was not a sturdily bound paperback and it didn't take long for daily use to result in pages coming very close to completely falling out. I couldn't get a new one, though, since it had been out of print for at least 4-5 years. So someone at church cut the binding off and spiral bound it for me, which has worked out quite well.