33 replies to this topic

#1 Bob L.

Bob L.

Junior Poster

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts

Posted 10 October 2016 - 03:26 PM

Hi, everybody. I was an Orthodox for a couple of years (2009-2011), but now I alternate between atheism and belief in a benevolent higher power. My story is more complicated than that, but it probably doesn't matter for this question.

I realized last night that a huge problem for me is self-hatred. I am an odd person, so I have never fit-in with normal people. I suspect the disapproval of my peers gradually became internalized when I was a teenager. I am now 50 years old, so I have been hating myself for 40 years. This hatred has hurt me and everybody around me, so I desperately want to fix it somehow.

My idea is to pray. I usually say the Jesus Prayer out of habit - even though I don't know where the historical Jesus fits-in-to my spiritual theories now. I was wondering if there is a short prayer similar to the Jesus Prayer that is more about me forgiving myself (perhaps with God's help) instead of about God forgiving me. Any ideas?

#2 Lakis Papas

Lakis Papas

Regular Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 616 posts
  • Orthodox Christian Member

Posted 10 October 2016 - 06:17 PM

The short prayer: 'Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, a sinner' is appropriate for any case, for your case also.

For people under anger, hate, stress, it is recommended for them to read the Book of Psalms of King David, from the Old Testament - Psalms also can be found in separate stand alone book.

Though, there is no magical way in prayer to change ones condition.

You might also try medical help from a certified psychologist, since you believe your condition started in the age of ten years - you might find yourself in error by a certified diagnosis. Self diagnosis is not always right.

#3 Rdr Andreas

Rdr Andreas

Very Frequent Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,028 posts

Posted 10 October 2016 - 06:43 PM