35 replies to this topic

#1 Andrew Don

Andrew Don

Regular Poster

• Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts

Posted 05 May 2009 - 09:40 PM

I am new to Saint Silouan and I am just becoming acquainted. Given that he was on Mt. Athos at the turn of last century and the prominence of the Caucasus region in parts of Elder Sophrony's biography, I was curious if anyone knew what role or experience Saint Silouan had in the imyaslavie controversy?

Thanks

Andrew Don

#2 Ryan

Ryan

Very Frequent Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 837 posts
  • Orthodox Christian Member

Posted 11 October 2013 - 07:59 PM

I have no idea what St. Silouan thought of the matter, but his disciple, Elder Sophrony, seems to have a favorable view of imiaslavie in his book His Life is Mine. He describes the controversy as one between "prophets and poets" on one side, and "scientists and technocrats" on the other. He does not outright say who is on which side, but some reading between the lines makes it clear where his sympathies are. In the same book, he later expounds on the Name in a way which indicates his sympathy for imiaslavie- for instance, he says:

The Name Jesus as knowledge, as 'energy' of God in relation to the world
and as His proper Name, is ontologically bound up with Him. It is
spiritual reality. Its sound can merge with its reality but not
necessarily so. As a name it was given to many mortal men but when we
pray we utter it with another content, another 'frame' of spirit. For us
it is the bridge between us and Him. It is the canal along which the
streams of divine strength flow to us. As proceeding from the Holy God
it is holy and it hallows us by its invocation. With this Name and
through it prayer acquires a certain tangibleness: it unites us with
God. In it, this Name, God is present like a scent- flask full of
fragrance. Through it, the Celestial One can be sensed imminently. As
divine energy it proceeds from the Substance of Divinity and is divine
itself