Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Are the Orthodox opposed to Thomas Aquinas?

• Please log in to reply
76 replies to this topic

#1 Jacob

Jacob

Regular Poster

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts

Posted 18 September 2009 - 11:23 AM

Hello friends,
While I am no expert, I have done some reading on Thomas Aquinas and some Thomisms. I realize that as a whole, if I recall correctly, the Orthodox church doesn't smile on Scholasticism (and I certainly see why!). But at the same time, I found this entry on St Thomas Aquinas at orthowiki

However, more recent scholarship has distinguished between Aquinas and the manner in which his theology was received and altered by the Schoolmen who came after him. Aquinas may be seen as the culmination of patristic tradition, rather than as the initiator of a tradition discontinuous with what came before. Vladimir Lossky, e.g., in praising the existential Thomism of the Catholic philosopher Etienne Gilson, refers to "the authentic Thomism of S. Thomas ..., a thought rich with new perspectives which the philosophical herd, giving in to the natural tendency of the human understanding, was not slow in conceptualizing, and changing into school Thomism, a severe and abstract doctrine, because it has been detached rom its vital source of power." The recent work of Anna Williams and others has pointed to the importance of deification in Aquinas and his similarity with St Gregory Palamas.

#2 Owen Jones

Owen Jones

Very Frequent Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,341 posts
  • Orthodox Christian Member

Posted 18 September 2009 - 01:47 PM