19 replies to this topic

#1 Benjamin Amis

Benjamin Amis

Regular Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 134 posts

Posted 11 February 2010 - 08:58 PM

Coming into Orthodoxy, monasticism is something quite new to me, and so I found it intriguing and have read article after article concerning monastic life, how to address monastics, visiting a monastery, etc. I am by no means an expert on monasticism, quite the contrary, my knowledge is quite limited. However, I have read enough to speak with friends (who are not Orthodox) concerning monasticism.

On this topic, we began discussing new monasticism. That is, the non-Orthodox practice of leading a cenobitic way of life: very prayerful and contemplative, around a supporting community of fellow Christians. However, new monastics often have their monasteries on the fringe of society, instead of far away from it. This is to have interaction with the impoverished, as hospitality to the stranger is key in new monasticism. Private and corporate prayer is also very important. However, new monastics often have jobs (although not always) and there is no prohibition on married new monastics, including even children of married couples. Those who are unmarried are expected to led a celibate life, or at least a chaste life until marriage.

Discussing this with my friends, I was asked the question: What would the Orthodox Church think of this system? I had to admit I that didn't know. And so, we thought of how this might be something that could be blessed by the Church. Essentially, this is what we came up with: