• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Anne M.

Anne M.

Junior Poster

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 24 May 2010 - 09:41 PM

This is my first time posting. I am female and currently single and struggle with the occasional need to bring something to confession that seems awkward to discuss with a priest. I know there are some clergy that post on here and maybe can help shed some light. Having to confess lustful thoughts and actions is difficult and I am unsure if the priest expects me to be specific, or if I can be general and say "lustful thoughts and actions." I don't want to share something with my priest that would make him feel uncomfortable. I also don't want to give too much information. I also sense I should be honest in confession.

With other sins, I feel comfortable being very open and discussing them in detail in hopes for some spiritual guidance. Of course, in areas of sexuality we need guidance more than anything else. However, getting spiritual counsel means discussing something in more detail, which I am afraid to do in matters of sexual sins.

Any feedback would be very very helpful. What does a priest expect and encourage in confession, regarding this matter? What is protocol?

Sincerely Anne

#2 Father David Moser

Father David Moser

• Moderators
  • 3,581 posts
  • Orthodox Christian Member
  • Verified Cleric

Posted 24 May 2010 - 11:13 PM

if I can be general and say "lustful thoughts and actions." I don't want to share something with my priest that would make him feel uncomfortable. I also don't want to give too much information. I also sense I should be honest in confession.