#1 Anthony G. Peggs

Anthony G. Peggs

Regular Poster

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts

Posted 19 August 2010 - 07:50 AM

hello everyone,

i have a question regarding Canonical Orthodox Churches. i am relatively new to the Faith, being Baptized and Chrismated, along with my wife, for only a couple of years now (with our two year old son being Baptized and Chrismated as well), So i am quite confused on the whole autocephaly,autonomous status of some Orthodox Churches. We belong to an Antiochian Orthodox Parish in southern california.

i guess what i'm asking is this: how do we know which Churches are Canonical? which Churches are The True Orthodox Church with unbroken Apostolic Succession? which Churches are The real Orthodox Church of The Apostles?

i'm not trying to doubt the nature of The Holy Church in anyway, i'm just a little confused, so if you can please help me on this, it will be greatly appreciated.

also, forgive me if i offend any by asking this but, may anyone who answers this please explain it to me in laymans terms? i don't know very much about this situation, so the simpler, the better for me.

i would ask my parish Priest about this, but i usually have alot of personal guidance and questions and Confessions i seek from him, and he is usually busy.

and if you can, can you please pray for our Parish Arch Priest who has pancreatic cancer, His name is Father Michael, also for Father Alexander who also has cancer? thank you!

#2 Kosta

Kosta

Very Frequent Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,516 posts

Posted 19 August 2010 - 08:28 AM