Jump to content

- - - - -

Remember Thy First Love (Elder Sophrony)

  • Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 Jason H.

Jason H.

    Very Frequent Poster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 428 posts

Posted 27 December 2010 - 10:45 PM

Title: Remember Thy First Love (Revelation 2:4-5): The Three Stages of the Spiritual Life in the Theology of Elder Sophrony
Author: Archimandrite Zacharias
Price: $27.95 (US)
Paperback: 464 pages
Publisher: Mount Thabor Publishing; First American edition (November 3, 2010)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0980020727
ISBN-13: 978-0980020724
Dimensions: 7.9 x 5.4 x 1.2 inches
Links: Amazon.com
Description: Remember Thy First Love is a graphic description of the three stages in the Christian life according to Elder Sophrony of Essex (1896-1993), disciple of St. Silouan the Athonite (1866-1938) and founder of the Patriarchal and Stavropegic Monastery of St. John the Baptist in Essex, England. In Remember Thy First Love, which complements The Enlargement of the Heart (2006) and The Hidden Man of the Heart (2008), Elder Zacharias details the nature and purpose of the first grace given at the beginning of the Christian spiritual odyssey, the experience of the apparent withdrawal of grace, and then our final adoption as children, by which we become heirs of God and joint-heirs of Christ (cf. Rom. 8:17).


My personal review: This has got to be hands down the best book written by Archimandrite Zacharias. It is packed full of such spiritual energy that really makes your soul rejoice! I recommend this book to anyone who is searching along the spiritual path of the Church. I already am planning on giving this book to many people. I'm just glowing with joy from finishing it and want to talk about it with other people who have read it.

Edited by Administrator, 13 January 2011 - 07:41 AM.

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users