• Please log in to reply
59 replies to this topic

#1 Emmanuel

Emmanuel

Junior Poster

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 20 October 2004 - 01:11 AM

I am what you may call a revert to Holy Orthodoxy. I was born into a Greek family, but was sent to Protestant and Catholic schools for instruction. I essentially adopted the faith of wherever I went to school as the Faith was really not taught at home. Thanks to the grace of God, however, I have realized the beauty of Orthodoxy. I would like to learn about the Greek Orthodox tradition more as I am considered a vocation to the Holy Diaconate for when I am older. I am currently a college student.

What I would like to do is spend some time in an Orthodox Monastery, hopefully one of Fr. Ephraim's. I would like to learn the Greek tradition well enough to teach others.

However, I have a few questions that I would like to be answered. First of all, due to my education at a Catholic school, there seemed to be a homosexual undercurrent among some of the clergy. For example, Matthew shephard was considered a "martyr." Saints were often depicted as homosexuals (if they existed at all) or had eating disorders if they fasted. I would not like to be in an environment like that ever again. I am aware of some of the abuses in some Orthodox monasteries and I do not want to be scandalized any more.

Nevertheless, I know some wonderful amazing Orthodox celibates who do great things for the faith. Has it been your experience that Orthodox monasteries take "homo-suspect" candidates? Wouldn't this be forbidden by our Church law? If so, which ones should I avoid? I am currently struggling with chastity (with girls of course) and I need a spiritual director who can relate. I hate to be rude, but having to endure a pro-homosexual environment for years- I don't want to ever do it again. I am looking forward to your responses.

God Bless the Orthodox Faith

Emmanuel

#2 Guest_matt

Guest_matt
  • Guests

Posted 20 October 2004 - 11:57 AM