7 replies to this topic

#1 Sean Selig McMahon

Sean Selig McMahon

Junior Poster

• Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 25 January 2012 - 09:12 PM

Hey everybody, this is my first time posting on monachos.net. I've always found this discussion group to provide a wealth of information and direction as I study the Christian faith.

I am currently unaffiliated with any church. I started following Christ a year ago, and quickly became involved with a Calvinist church because they wanted my musical skill for for worship leadership. Needless to say I felt thrust into a position of authority that I felt totally unworthy to occupy. As I got to know their teachings, I found I couldn't stay any longer -- I felt I would be led away from truth.

I was blessed, however, to make friends with a Greek Orthodox priest, and through him I have been able to learn about the faith. But now I live in a different city, and my search for the True Church continues.

In an effort to understand the Old Testament better (and thus Christ), I have been studying torah with a Chasidic rabbi (I am Jewish by blood, but I did not grow up in an observant household). I do find that, for the most part, what I am learning with him is very edifying to my understanding of Christ, although he obviously does not accept Jesus as Moshiach. But I have learned that there is a long and rich oral tradition in Judaism that stretches back to before Christ, and I find that with the chasids, their observance of sabbath and feast days is very Christ-centric in that they are very mystical, and try to draw near to the mystery of God through a kabbalistic understanding of the commandments and observance. Again, while they do not accept Jesus as Christ, I think that nevertheless, their understanding of torah as "shadow" or "type" of the Age to Come is helping me understand Christ.

Now for my questions: