Photo
- - - - -

Infants sent to hell without Baptism? Surely not.

• Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 Brad D.

Brad D.

Regular Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 244 posts
  • Guest from Another Religious Tradition

Posted 30 January 2012 - 03:38 PM

This morning I was listening to a recording of Our Life In Christ, found here: http://ancientfaith.com/podcasts/ourlife/the_sacrament_of_baptism_-_infant_baptism_part_3

The section in question here is about 2/3 of the way through, after the second break.

They are talking about infant Baptism, and answering objections to it. My wife was raised Pentecostal, and so because infant baptism is very foreign to her I have been trying to help her understand why I am going to baptize our baby. We are not Orthodox, but I am a Methodist Pastor and we thankfully still baptize infants in our Church. Anyway, we were listening to this teaching on infant baptism, when the speakers began speaking against the belief that infants are saved prior to baptism on the basis of the age of accountability. Can someone please tell me what the exact stance of the Orthodox Church is on this issue? The Church does not teach that infants go to hell if they are not baptized, does it? Surely not...

Many Thanks,
Brad

#2 Aidan Kimel

Aidan Kimel

Very Frequent Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 440 posts

Posted 30 January 2012 - 04:10 PM

The discussion starts about 41:18.

Brad, I think you have misunderstood the speakers' real view. The speakers are not always clear when they are presenting the Orthodox view and when they are presenting views with which they are disagreeing. I found some of the discussion confusing.

Edited by Aidan Kimel, 30 January 2012 - 04:26 PM.

#3 Brad D.

Brad D.

Regular Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 244 posts

Posted 30 January 2012 - 04:33 PM

The discussion starts about 41:18.