• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Nectarios Allen

Nectarios Allen

Junior Poster

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 22 April 2012 - 05:09 PM

I apologize if this is inapropriate. I am new to orthodoxy and have a question. I have begun attending a church and have begun working with a Priest. He wishes to be referred to as my "spiritual Father". He even had me read a small book on how to deal with a spiritual father. I have read other places that that is not how it works and even heard on ancient faith radio that is wrong. I'm a bit concerned.

Thank you for your help.

#2 Herman Blaydoe

Herman Blaydoe

• Moderators
  • 4,157 posts
  • Orthodox Christian Member

Posted 22 April 2012 - 08:32 PM

You may want to become familiar with the forum Search feature. I recommend starting with the following threads. If you still have questions we can certainly discuss them here.

Monasticism and Spiritual Fatherhood
Modern Elders
Should advice from your spiritual father always be obeyed over other clergy?
Obeying your spiritual father

#3 Xenia Moos

Xenia Moos

Regular Poster

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 45 posts

Posted 23 April 2012 - 03:40 AM

For years I wanted a spiritual father and I prayed that God would give me one. Then someone told me that the parish priest was one's spiritual father under normal circumstances. But I wanted my own St. Seraphim, someone who could just look at me and "do a reading" and give me special advice and instructions. But then I started paying closer attention to what my parish priest said to me during confession: Pray to the Mother of God, read a little of St. John's Ladder, etc. and realized I was already getting good counsel, if I was willing to accept it. I was like Naaman of the Old Testament, who had leprosy. Elisha told him to bathe in the Jordan, advice he disdained because it wasn't grand enough. I wanted "special" counsel. But I am not a special person, just an ordinary parishioner.

-xenia

#4 Dimitris

Dimitris