#1 Stephen Griffith

Stephen Griffith

Junior Poster

• Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Orthodox Christian Member

Posted 14 November 2012 - 09:05 PM

I just want to ask a simple question for anyone who knows the thought of St. Maximus to a good degree, and one I'm quite desperate to know the answer to:

Are the logoi (the divine ideas or principles behind created things through which the Logos of God created*) created or uncreated?

*Please feel free to correct my rough definition of a logos

#2 Lakis Papas

Lakis Papas

Regular Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 616 posts

Posted 14 November 2012 - 11:12 PM

I am no expert on this field, but I understand that "logoi" are uncreated just like God's energies are uncreated.

Actually, logoi are very close related to uncreated energies. Logoi are certainly not stand-alone entities, their existence is tied to the corresponding creations. When the soul reaches impassibility (free from the passions) the human mind is able to contemplate the logoi that lie behind the natural order (some Fathers use the word heart instead of mind - they all mean the same thing by different terminology).

#3 Jacob Van Sickle

Jacob Van Sickle

Junior Poster

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 15 November 2012 - 12:45 AM

In Ambiguum 7 Maximus writes:
But in the future age when graced with divinization, he will affectionately love and cleave to the logoi already mentioned that pre-existed in God, or rather, he will love God himself, in whom the logoi of beautiful things are securely grounded. In this way, he becomes a "portion of God," insofar as he exists through the logos of his being which is in God... (Blowers and Wilken, trans.)
This seems pretty clear to me. I don't know if Maximus ever uses the term "uncreated."

#4 Fr Raphael Vereshack

Fr Raphael Vereshack

• Moderators
  • 4,420 posts
  • Verified Monastic Cleric

Posted 15 November 2012 - 02:54 PM